WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Beverage Association (ABA) today announced the election of Rodger L. Collins, president of packaged beverages for Dr Pepper Snapple Group, as Chair of its Board of Directors, as well as other officers to the Board.

Mr. Collins, who previously served as Vice Chair, succeeds Claude B. Nielsen, chairman and chief executive officer of Coca-Cola Bottling Company United, Inc.  The Board also elected Jeffrey Honickman, chief executive officer for Pepsi-Cola & National Brand Beverages, Ltd., as Vice Chair.

“Our industry, at its core, is about innovation – both in our products and through our joint efforts in developing and delivering successful policies, programs and initiatives,” Mr. Collins said.  “As Board Chair, I look forward to continuing to work with our industry’s leaders as we build upon that innovation and confront head-on whatever challenges lie ahead.”

“I have been proud to serve as chair of the ABA Board as we’ve worked to advance meaningful solutions to societal challenges, and I look forward to the leadership Rodger will bring to our great industry,” Mr. Nielsen said.  “It is clear that ABA fills a very critical role in bringing our industry together and in doing so, strengthening our commitment to our consumers, customers and communities.”

“We look forward to Rodger’s leadership as ABA board chair, along with the knowledge and experience that Jeff brings to the executive committee of the Board. We also thank Claude for his leadership and commitment to ABA and our industry during his service as Board chair,” Susan K. Neely, ABA president and CEO, said.  “With the strong support and guidance of the ABA Board of Directors, our industry is able to present a unified voice on critical issues and achieve significant and meaningful results when working together.” 

Members of ABA’s Board of Directors serve a four-year term and participate in semi-annual meetings that help shape association programs, policies and initiatives.  Officers are elected annually.  There are 29 members on ABA’s Board.  ABA also welcomes the following recently elected or re-elected members of the ABA Board of Directors:  Steve Ford, CEO, LinPepCo Partnership; Jerry Fowden, CEO, Cott Corporation; Seth Goldman, president and TeaEO, Honest Tea; Andrew Moore, co-president, Bigfoot Beverages; and Anthony Varni, president and CEO, Varni Brothers Corporation.


The American Beverage Association is the trade association representing the broad spectrum of companies that manufacture and distribute non-alcoholic beverages in the United States.  For more information on ABA, please visit the association’s Web site at www.ameribev.org or call the ABA communications team at (202) 463-6770.