WASHINGTON, D.C. - The American Beverage Association (ABA) today announced the election of two new members to its Board of Directors. The new members are: Kirk Tyler, president, Atlantic Coca-Cola Bottling Company, and Matthew Dent, president and chief operating officer, Buffalo Rock Company.

"I am pleased to welcome these exceptional leaders in our industry to ABA's Board of Directors," Tom Bené, chair of ABA's Board of Directors and president of PepsiCo Foodservice, said. "Our industry is known for its leadership in advancing solutions that work, and I look forward to the fresh perspectives of our new board members."

In addition, two members previously appointed by the chair were elected for their first terms: Steven A. Cahillane, president and chief executive officer, Coca-Cola Refreshments, and James (Jim) J. Johnston Jr., president, Beverage Concentrates & Latin America Beverages, Dr Pepper Snapple Group.

"The ABA Board of Directors provides critical guidance and decision making which are vital to the success of our association and our industry," said Susan K. Neely, ABA president and chief executive officer. "We are privileged to have such a committed group of industry leaders at the helm of our organization."

The following seven members were elected to serve a second term on the board: William B. (Billy) Cyr, president and chief executive officer, Sunny Delight Beverages Co.; J. Alexander M. (Sandy) Douglas Jr., president, Coca-Cola North America, The Coca-Cola Company; Eric Foss, chief executive officer, Pepsi Beverages Company; Walter (Walt) Gross, senior vice president, on-premise, G&J Pepsi-Cola Bottlers; J. Frank Harrison III, chairman and chief executive officer, Coca-Cola Bottling Company Consolidated; Jeffrey (Jeff) Honickman, chief executive officer, Pepsi-Cola & National Brand Beverages, Ltd; and Kim E. Jeffery, president and chief executive officer, Nestlé Waters North America Inc.

Two board members -- James C. (Jimmy) Lee III, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Buffalo Rock Company, and H. L. (Sandy) Williams Jr., chairman, Corinth Coca-Cola Bottling Works, Inc. -- have completed their terms on the board.

Members of ABA's board of directors serve a four-year term and participate in semi-annual meetings that help shape association policy and initiatives. With the election of these members, there are now 28 members on ABA's Board of Directors.


The American Beverage Association is the trade association representing the broad spectrum of companies that manufacture and distribute non-alcoholic beverages in the United States. For more information on ABA, please visit the association's Web site at www.ameribev.org or call the ABA communications team at (202) 463-6770.